Elm City, NC-In a wild final race of the 2021 season Drake Troutman capitalized on a wreck that took out leader Tyler Nicely to get his second win of the season while Chris Arnold took home the 2021 Southeast Dirt Modified Series championship presented by Owens Construction. 

23 Modifieds would make the call, in qualifying Austin Holcombe would beat the field with a lap of 15.993 seconds to earn his 5th career Southeast Dirt Modified Series pole. Troy Loomis and Daniel Parker would qualify 2nd and 3rd respectively with Tyler Nicely and Drake Troutman rounding out the top 5 in that order.

In heat race action Tyler Nicely out-dueled Austin Holcombe and Chris Arnold to get the win in heat race 1. Drake Troutman dominated to win heat 2 and Daniel Parker took home the win in heat race 3. 

In the feature Tyler Nicely and Drake Troutman led the field to the initial green, Troutman tried to take the early lead but Nicely made an aggressive early move to secure the lead on the first lap coming off of turn 4. Nicely would lead the first 23 laps with a lead that grew at times to over 2.5 seconds. 

Behind the race for the lead points leader Chris Arnold was racing with a championship in mind. Hoping to avoid trouble and keep his nose clean Arnold flirted with position just outside the top 5 for most of the race. 

Up front Nicely was keeping Troutman and Austin Holcombe at bay until disaster struck on lap 23. A wreck in turn 1 left Nicely no-where to go, colliding with the wrecked 94 of Paul Washington and ending his bid for the win. Troutman would take the lead and hold off a hard charging Holcombe to get his second series win of the season, Holcombe would finish second with Daniel Parker, Jeff Parsons and Chris Arnold rounding out the top 5 in the feature. 

Chris Arnold becomes the third driver in Southeast Dirt Modified Series history to claim a championship along with Derrick Ramey (2016) and Billy Workman Jr (2017). 

The Southeast Dirt Modified Series would like to thank our partners at Owens Construction, zMax Micro-Lubricant, Prime Electrical Solutions, Gen3 Performance Imaging, Swift Springs and Fastrack Designs for all their support during the 2021 season. Their support is what helped make all of our races possible this season and we sincerely say a collective ‘Thank You’ on behalf of the series, drivers and teams. 

For more information on the Southeast Dirt Modified Series please visit our website, Like us on Facebook by searching for “Southeast Dirt Modified Series”, follow the series on Twitter @SEDirtModSeries.

FEATURE RESULTS (Unofficial, 30 laps, $3000 to win)-Drake Troutman, Austin Holcombe, Daniel Parker, Jeff Parsons, Chris Arnold, Joey Polevoy, John Marshall, David Taylor, Ryan Toole, Greg Sheffield, Paul Washington, Case Daniels, Ronald Lamborgini, Damon Kotke, Robert Poole, Taylor Cook, Tyler Nicely, Curtis Mason, Sam Lamborgini, Doug Penny, David Daughtery, Troy Loomis, Randy Lucas

HEAT RACE WINNERS-Tyler Nicely, Drake Troutman, Daniel Parker. 

POLE AWARD-Austin Holcombe 15.993

Share this post